Unaka was unable to keep the momentum going on Wednesday.

The Lady Rangers dropped a tough 3-0 decision to Sale Creek in the Class A Softball Winner’s Bracket in Murfreesboro.


With the loss, UHS drops to a Thursday elimination game against Whitwell at 11a EDT/10a CDT at Starplex #4.

On Wednesday evening, Unaka found themselves in an early hole.

The Lady Panthers took advantage of runners on base to take a 2-0 lead with the swing of a bat in the top of the first. After the Lady Rangers went quietly in the home side of the first, Sale Creek added another run in the top of the second.

Unaka saw Lilly Kiser hit a single in the home side of the frame, but Unaka was unable to bring the run home to close the gap. Taylor Shanks and Erika Potter were able to get on base in the third. However, Sale Creek kept Unaka from touching home plate.

From there, neither team was able to threaten as Sale Creek held on for the win.

Shanks was 2-for-4 to lead Unaka at the plate, while Kiser and Savannah Tipton added a hit apiece.

Corie Schuettler was handed the loss despite allowing just two earned runs on striking out five batters.

With a win against Whitwell, the Lady Rangers will face the winner of the Cascade/Houston Co. game in another elimination game at 5pm EDT/4 pm CDT.