Brackets set for 2016 playoffs



The playoff brackets are set.

With the conclusion of the regular season, the TSSAA has unveiled the brackets for the 2016 football championships.

The first round is set for Nov. 4. All games in the playoffs will kickoff at 7 p.m.

In Class 3A, R-1 No. 1 Elizabethton (9-1) will host R-2 No. 4 McMinn Central (4-6) at Citizens Bank Stadium. The winner of that matchup will take on the winner of R-2 No. 2 CAK (8-2) vs. R-1 No. 3 Pigeon Forge (5-5). If the Cyclones advance, they will host the second round match-up.

Class 2A sees both Happy Valley and Hampton hosting first-round games. R-1 No. 1 Happy Valley (9-1), who earned the top-seed with the head-to-head victory over the Bulldogs, will welcome R-2 No. 4 Rockwood (5-5) to Warrior Hill for a rematch of last season’s first round. The winner of the HV-Rockwood game will advance to play the winner of R-2 No. 2 Grace Christian (5-5) and R-1 No. 3 Sullivan North (8-2). The Warriors would host that game if they advance.

R-1 No. 2 Hampton (9-1) will host R-2 No. 3 Sweetwater (7-3) at J.C. Campbell Stadium. The winner will advance to play the winner of R-2 No. 1 Austin-East (9-0) and R-1 No. 4 Gatlinburg-Pittman (6-4) with the highest remaining seed hosting.

In Class A, R-1 No. 1 Cloudland (4-6) will welcome R-2 No. 4 Harriman (7-3) to Orr Field for a first round clash. A ‘Lander win would bring the second round to Roan Mountain against the winner of the R-2 No. 2 Coalfield (9-1) vs. R-1 No. 3 Hancock County (4-6).

R-1 No. 4 Unaka (1-9) will be the lone county school to hit the road as the Rangers will travel to R-2 No. 1 Greenback (10-0). The winner of that match-up will take on the winner of R-1 No. 2 Oakdale (7-3) vs. R-2 No. 3 Onieda (7-3) with the higher remaining seed hosting the second round match-up.


The Latest

error: Content is protected !!