Cloudland, Hampton and Unaka well represented on All-Watauga Valley teams



Carter County was well represented on the All-Watauga Valley Conference teams.

A total of 16 student-athletes were selected to the All-Conference teams for District 1-A. The awards were announced at the conclusion of the District 1-A tournament.

Unaka’s Myah Parlier was named the Player of the Year for the league. The senior Parlier was joined on the All-Conference team by teammates Madison Pierce and Savannah Tipton.

For the Cloudland girls, Megan Lunsford, Stacia Wilson and Trinity Vines were selected to the All-Conference team.

Hampton saw three players honored as Stephanie Campbell, Brooke Hughes and Leanne Guinn were all selected.

The coaches unanimously selected Hampton’s Jesse James as the All-Watauga Valley Conference Coach of the Year in his remembrance. The league also voted to rename the award in his honor.

On the boys’ side, Cloudland and Unaka had three selections apiece. Robert Leeper, Hunter Shell and Josh Blair represented CHS on the team, while Unaka’s trio of selections were comprised of Isaac Hill, Ryan Johnson and John Ramsey.

Hampton saw Jordan Bentley and Caleb Oaks selected to the team.

The honorable mentions included Rocky Cory (Hampton), Garrett Vines (Hampton), Matt Hughes (Hampton), Dillon Johnson (Cloudland), Conner Birchfield (Cloudland) and Will Sexton (Unaka).

University High swept the Player and Coach of the Year awards as Kaleb Meredith was honored as player and Justin Penley was selected coach.


The Latest

error: Content is protected !!