Region 1-A Football Awards Announced



The 2019 Region 1-A Football awards had a distinct Cloudland and Unaka favor.

A total of 16 players between the two schools were honored for their performances on the field this season. Coaches voted on the awards and all-conference teams.

Cloudland’s Garrison Julian capped off a stellar season as he was named the Most Valuable Player for the league.

The Landers saw David Miller named the Offensive Lineman of the Year, while Unaka’s Logan Benway was named the Co-Offensive Back of the Year.

On the defensive side of the ball, Cloudland’s Jed Childress was named the Defensive Lineman of the Year. Triston Lacy of Cloudland was honored as the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Cloudland saw Logan Johnson, Hunter Blair, Hunter Shell, Wyatt Julian, Seth Birchfield and Eli Preswood join Julian, Miller, Childress and Lacy on the All-Conference team, while Unaka was represented by Nick Bowers, Austin Drew, Nathaniel Oaks, Daniel Shearl and Devin Ramsey along with Benway.

Cloudland’s Scott Potter was named the Coach of the Year.

The complete team is listed below.

2019 Region 1-A Football Awards
MVP-Garrison Julian, Cloudland
Offensive Lineman of the Year-David Miller Cloudland
Co-Offensive Backs of the Year: Logan Benway Unaka, Joseph Paul Jellico
WR of the Year: Jordan King Jellico
Defensive Lineman of the Year:Jed Childress, Cloudland
Linebacker of the Year: Preston Hatfield, Hancock County
Defensive Back of the Year: Devon Blevins, Hancock County
All-purpose Player of the Year: Ethan Short, Hancock County
Special Teams Player of the year: Triston Lacy, Cloudland
Coach of the year: Scott Potter, Cloudland

Cloudland: Logan Johnson, Hunter Blair, Hunter Shell, Wyatt Julian, Seth Birchfield, Eli Preswood, Garrison Julian, David Miller, Jed Childress and Triston Lacy

Hancock County: Jadon Royston, Darron Collins, Stetson Collins, Tyler Gibson

Jellico: Keaton Jones, Jacob Reynolds, James Cassidy, Carter Bolton, Kade Evans

Unaka: Nick Bowers, Austin Drew, Nathaniel Oaks, Daniel Shearl, Devin Ramsey, Logan Benway


The Latest

error: Content is protected !!